Letter to My Students-Past and Present

Dear Students:

I am writing to let you know that after 20 years as a History teacher at Worcester Academy, I will not be returning in the fall. Looking back, I cherish the relationships I’ve built with all of you—I think good teaching is built on the bond between teacher and student and passing the spirit of inquiry on to the next generation. I hope that I’ve been able to inspire you to become civic-minded, willing to engage in the world around you and to question assumptions and imagine alternatives. I believe that a sense of history is vital and relevant for solving the many problems that face humanity. In short, the world needs informed leaders and citizens. The future is in your hands. Thank you for 20 years. Keep striving.

 

Sincerely,

Dr. John R. Murnane.

Leave a Reply

